PICTURES…TO FUEL MY INSPIRATION

As you know from my last post… I have sold the Electra Glide and am currently considering my next bike. I know for sure that I am down-sizing and I think it may be all the way to the Sportster level. If that’s what I end up with though, it will only remain a typical stock Sportster for a little while. I’ve always wanted a “bobber” Sportster and it may happen soon. For now I am just gathering information (aka pictures) to fuel my inspiration. Here are a few that I have found on-line recently. There are parts of each that I really like. What do you think?

_________________________________________________________________

The above image is courtesy of www.bikeexif.com. It reminds me of a Russell Mitchell creation… but it’s not. I love the “blacked-out” look and the “fatty” front tire. The “mid-level” exhaust works for me too.

_________________________________________________________________

The above image is courtesy of www.ironhead-bobbers.com. There is not much that I don’t like about this bike. WAY COOL! If I had one beef it is that I don’t usually care for spring mounted seats. Love the color scheme.

_________________________________________________________________

The above image is courtesy of www.xlforum.net. The minimalist vibe is cool… I like the rear fender a lot as well. Some cut fenders look like doggie-doo but this one works for me. This isĀ  a good argument for drag-bars too..

_________________________________________________________________

The above image is courtesy of www.sideroadcycles.com. I really like the exhaust here… and the “gators” are a nice touch. Bars are probably a little too high for my 5′-9″ frame.

_________________________________________________________________

The above image is courtesy of www.soflasportbikes.com. (Believe it or not!) Again… the minimalist vibe is appealing to me. Not crazy about the riser.

_________________________________________________________________

5 responses

  1. I like the tight and tucked away look of the exhaust on the first bike along with those fat tires. And of course apes are great. I have 16″ on my bike and i’m 6’even. They sit right at shoulder height for me when I sit up straight. 14″ might be better for you if you go for apes. Love having apes on the bike. You get that Superman feeling when flying down the road, makes you want to lay down on the tank and kick your legs out behind you :o)

    December 27, 2010 at 10:12 PM

  2. Swag…I am liking the Sporty from the http://www.bikeexif.com, I agree with everything you said about it from the color to the front tire to the pipes. Only thing, I would go for the 1200 rather than the 883. Look forward to seeing what you end up going with!

    December 28, 2010 at 7:22 AM

  3. I have to tell ya that picking ‘ONE’ new bike to buy is soooo hard for me! Also, modifying! I bought my Road King and loved it until I decided to put ape hangers on it… have hated it ever since. Bikes are like a great pair of boots.. ya know it when you put them on and if it fits good, dont change it. My mantra, and yet I love to modify.
    FYI, my husband loves the ape hangers so they arent coming off. I guess Im guna have to find a new ride!! Poor me….
    Good luck with the journey. For the sake of picking, the first bike would be the one I would want to ride home!! Bad a–!!

    December 28, 2010 at 3:38 PM

  4. Considering all the possibilities is so cool. If it weren’t for the fact that we’re missing out on actually riding, it could go on forever!

    December 29, 2010 at 10:27 AM

  5. I’ve been thinking the same thing – but I currently ride a small bike (an old ’55 Harley KH). Some friends keep telling me I need to get a bagger, but I’m not really looking to go that way… I have really been looking at the 48 as a replacement for my current ride, though I am a little bigger than you are.

    Anyways – I found this bike and really like the look of it. Similar to the first one in your post, but a little different…

    http://facesandfeatures.com/2010/10/31/harley-sportster-forty-eight/

    Matt

    December 31, 2010 at 8:14 PM

Leave a Reply

