I’M HEADED TO BELL BUCKLE… WHY DON’T YOU COME ALONG

I made my annual trip to Bell Buckle, Tennessee today. Well, actually… I’ve already been there once this year for the Bell Buckle Motorcycle Days back in June… but every year I like to ride down to the quaint little town just for the fun of it… and today was the day. Of course I took the scenic route and enjoyed some of my favorite aspects of riding the backroads of Middle Tennessee.

One of those things I love is seeing the huge fields of various crops that surround the Nashville area. People who work the land (aka Farmers) have my utmost respect and although I know it is incredibly hard work, I can’t help but think it must be very rewarding as well. Kind of a one with nature thing that is very appealing to me.  And speaking of nature… note that the sky was pretty overcast this morning when I started my trek.

R_082909b

R_082909a

A lot of people don’t realize it but just south of Nashville, our great state gets pretty “hilly”. It’s one of the things that I have enjoyed since I first moved here almost 20 years ago… and it definitely makes for some great scenery when riding.

R_082909e

R_082909g

On my way to Bell Buckle, I stopped off in Christiana, Tennessee. They have a tiny post office, a rather famous restaurant and that’s about it. It’s a great backroads Tennessee town.

R_082909c

A couple other things I love about the backroads of Middle Tennessee are the barns (yeah… it’s  kinda weird but I just like them for some reason) and then the  historical cemetery’s. Miller Cemetery is one of the really old ones with some of the people having passed in the 1800s. When I walk  through these kind of cemetery’s I can’t help but wonder what these people were like and what Tennessee was like when they were alive.

R_082909h

R_082909d

R_082909k

R_082909i

After all the stops and photo ops, I finally arrived at my destination of Historic Bell Buckle around 11:00am… and the place was packed as usual. The town square (complete with tiny post office and quilted parking lot) is full of craft and antique stores as well as one of the best southern style cafe’s you will find anywhere… so there is rarely a shortage of visitors on the town square. If you are ever in the area, you need to visit Bell Buckle, Tennessee.

R_082909j

R_082909f

R_082909m

R_082909l

R_082909n

3 responses

  1. Great pics Swag! Enjoyed your journey to Bell Buckle, TN! I definitely need to tour the southern US!

    Faceyman

    August 30, 2009 at 7:46 AM

  2. Sounds like a great ride! Pictures are awesome!

    August 30, 2009 at 10:59 AM

  3. ronman1

    Man it was as if I had ridden those roads myself. Love that part of the country. A dear friend is buried in that cemetery.

    September 5, 2009 at 2:32 PM

Leave a Reply

