BELL BUCKLE MOTORCYCLE DAYS

R_061309a

Bell Buckle, Tennessee is a smallish rural town just south of Nashville that hosts an annual Motorcycle Days event each year. Not sure why the call it Day”s” because it is only one day… but regardless, it usually draws a good crowd. This years event was originally scheduled for May 16th but due to rain it was rescheduled for today. That probably explains why attendance was a bit down this year. Still… it was a good time and I’d guesstimate that there were 250 to 300 bikes on hand.

R_061309b

R_061309c

One highlight of the day was a great performance by Middle Tennessee’s own Big Mike Griffin. Mike is one bad blues guitarist/singer and as usual his performance was superb. For more pics see below.

CLICK HERE FOR MORE MOTORCYCLE DAYS PICTURES

CLICK HERE FOR MORE PICS OF BIG MIKE’S PERFORMANCE

12 responses

  1. It’s nice to see towns reaching out to riders and welcoming them, here in my town I don’t understand why they don’t do something like this with the volume of riders that pass through each day cruising the coast. I think its a win win for riders, the town and the local business community – Great pictures

    June 14, 2009 at 4:39 AM

  2. Enjoyed your pics. I find these smaller events so enjoyable. There’s a feel to them that encourages you to make new friends and gather new stories. All that with superb local music and food – what’s not to love?

    June 14, 2009 at 5:00 AM

  3. Ed… I couldn’t agree more. Too bad the folks in Myrtle Beach don’t understand this. Bell Buckle does a lot of things to promote their town and it pays off for them. Next weekend is their annual “RC Cola and Moonpie Festival”.

    June 14, 2009 at 7:01 AM

  4. Key Kathie… yeah, I much prefer these type events to the larger national rallys.

    June 14, 2009 at 7:02 AM

  5. I have come to realize that it is impossible to know all the events out there. I am only familiar with west coast but I am dying to experience the other end of the country.
    I hope I can recruit enough people to add their events to my website so ALL will know whats going on in the entire USA. Then we can all plan to ride out of our normal backyard. If I start now, maybe I can hit them all before I die!
    I have yet to attend a rally, run or event that I didnt have a blast. Its good for the towns and fun for the attendees. Small towns and large…its just a good time…void of conflict, of course.
    Thanx for giving me a new one for my list!!!

    June 14, 2009 at 10:43 AM

  6. Probably low also due to the economy. I’ve noticed participation has been down across the board.

    June 15, 2009 at 1:00 PM

  7. Scott

    Wow, I’m honored you took a shot of my bike. Never expected it to make it to the net besides the forum I’m a member of, its the Candy Red Warrior.
    Thanks for making my day.

    June 16, 2009 at 7:52 PM

  8. Smooth… could be. I’m hoping we are starting to see an uptick in the ole Eco.

    June 16, 2009 at 8:28 PM

  9. Yo Scott… it’s a great looking bike man!

    June 16, 2009 at 8:39 PM

  10. Roger Witbeck

    I won the best of show at bell buckel mc days and there was no pics of my bike . Did u not think it was worthy

    July 16, 2009 at 7:41 PM

  11. Roger… If I had a dime for every time I was asked that question! I don’t know… which bike was yours?

    July 16, 2009 at 10:39 PM

  12. Pingback: I’M HEADED TO BELL BUCKLE… WHY DON’T YOU COME ALONG « Swag’s Rant

Leave a Reply

