THANK GOD THE SEARCH IS OVER…

After spending the last month in search of my next bike, I finally was able to locate “the one” this weekend. And honestly, I was beginning to think the day would never come! After selling the Electra Glide, I really thought it would be fairly easy to find a decent priced, used Sportster that I can play with and mildly customize but man… was I wrong. I scoured the local “Crai-zymans’s List” nearly every day and ended up on various wild-goose chases that did little more than piss me off. (Just a note: If your going to use the local “list” then answer people who inquire, stop trying to pull scams on intelligent people and show up when you say you will!) I tried “Flea-Bay” too but found that bikes are selling for ridiculous amounts this time of year. (I will never pay more than book value people!) Finally, when I was about to give up my buddy Scooter and I drug his trailer way up north of town to where we finally found a “99 Custom” that was in good shape, at a reasonable price so we brought it home. (I still owe him a tank of gas.) Thank God the search is over and I’m on to the task at hand. The first step was to take off the bags, windshield and backrest. (This weekends minor progress before and after below.) More stuff to come off soon… and some to be added. Stand by.

8 responses

  1. Congrats my friend!

    March 20, 2011 at 10:33 PM

  2. Faceyman

    Congrats on the new ride! Look forward to hearing about the custom work.

    March 21, 2011 at 3:43 AM

  3. Am I looking at a solid rear? That is something you will love on your new Sporty! Glad you got rid of the bags and windshield. Sportsters look sooo overwhelmed with those kind of bags and a windshield…well I will leave that “unsaid”. Next to go…oh please say you are going to drop those silly engine guard rails. PLEASE? Of course that seat HAS to go!
    This bike has loads of potential and I can see why you chose her…congrats on the Sportster…I love mine…I’ll bet you will love yours too!

    March 21, 2011 at 7:05 AM

  4. Glad you found something that suits your needs – and I agree, buying used can be VERY frustrating. Looking forward to following the transition.

    March 21, 2011 at 9:00 AM

  5. Thanks folks!

    Hey Chessie… yes it is a solid rear wheel and the crash bar and seat will def be going away. I’m thinking about the Lepera Bare Bones. Any thoughts? I’m also considering a set of Biltwell Frisco bars. And… I love the look of solid struts but everybody says I’d be sorry. So many options. I’m not sure where it will end up.

    March 21, 2011 at 6:48 PM

  6. Giggles

    Already looking better. Glad you found the one. Looking forward to following along.

    March 21, 2011 at 7:24 PM

  7. Good find! Looks much better without all the farkles.

    March 21, 2011 at 8:41 PM

  8. Are you planning to ride the “distance” with the Sportster? If not, then why not solid? I get shit all the time for my choices on my Sportster. “You should go to ….” “How do you ride that thing all over like that” yeah yeah yeah…. Hey I ride. THat’s all I know.

    My next seat is gonna be the Le Pera Bare Bones. It’s not like we have loads of choice. It’s either a Mustang, a special build, or it’s LaPera.

    My grandson is coming for the summer. The bike is the only transportation I will have for him during the day. (My MR. has the 4 wheeler, during the day.) So I need to change out the seat anyway from solo to a “hauler”. I wonder what the thoughts of a 13 year old will be when he discovers he has to ride behind his grandma everywhere?

    March 22, 2011 at 5:06 AM

Leave a Reply

