A LOT OF PEOPLE HATE THESE KIND OF POSTS

(Highway 49)

Yeah I know… a lot of people hate these kind of posts (the whole look at my ride pictures thing) but here’s one for you anyway! I tracked about 200 miles today and found a great road… Highway 49 between Charlotte, TN and Springfield, TN. In the words of Ferris Bueller… “It is so choice”. Saw some other cool things too and grabbed a few pics along the way.

(Passing under the Natchez Trace near Franklin, TN.)

(Historic Franklin, TN.)

(A beautiful blue sky in Middle Tennessee today.)

(Postcard artwork on the side of a building in Dickson, TN.)

(The Cheatham County Courthouse in Ashland City, TN.)

(The reason I ride…)

(The Robertson County Courthouse in Springfield, TN.)

(If you live near Nashville you should check out the 49.)

10 responses

  1. I only hate them when you post a great ride and we still have 3′ of snow on the ground. 🙂

    Nice ride.

    April 19, 2010 at 7:50 AM

  2. Swag, …like all things…there are peeps with all kinds of taste. I feel it’s not so much the “Look where I’ve been” that annoys people (INHO) but how the photos are are laid out with the story, and if the story is short enough, and if each photo holds an interest into the next one. Most folks don’t want to see photos of people who hold no special interest to them…and some of these “ride testimonials” are photo albums of them, their wife, kid, friends and a small bit of the natural wonder of the road or area behind them. ( I also like to see the bike in the photo…)

    I’m a person who likes riding to places she’s never been before, and I read as much as I can from people who write good ride reports (with photos) to help me make a decision if that road is worth taking a detour for or not…

    I like architecture. To casually scroll past a picture of an historic building is like closing your eyes to history. I look at some of these buildings and I’m inspired to look them up on the internet for more history. You’ve inspired to to read more about Franklin, and the area surrounding it for more history information. I’m planning to ride the Trace in the future…I love history.

    I don’t know for sure what draws people to articles like this one, or what drives them away…but I know I come for all kinds of reasons. Knowledge, beauty, and the wonder of new places? Yeah I like that answer… Thanks Swag…don’t stop posting the rides that inspire you. It’s like throwing water on a smoldering fire; And you want to roast s’mores.

    April 19, 2010 at 9:21 AM

  3. Swag…I have to say that I am one of those people who enjoys this type of post. I have never had the opportunity to ride in TN, now I get the chance to see parts of TN through your eyes. Thanks for that and as Marilyn says, “don’t stop posting about rides that inspire you.”

    April 19, 2010 at 4:21 PM

  4. Good thing I’m not like most people, cause I LOVE the posts with pictures of your ride 🙂 Especially when it as interesting as yours and Marilyn’s!
    Beautiful pictures and my favorite (of course) is the one with your bike under the bridge….Did I mention that I love bridges? 😉

    April 19, 2010 at 7:02 PM

  5. Why would people hate this kind of scenery?? Fantastic Swagger!!

    April 22, 2010 at 2:51 AM

  6. Scooter

    So, you laid out of work today, went riding, and didn’t bother to call me to go??

    April 23, 2010 at 9:52 PM

  7. Scooter… I wish but this was on a Sunday.

    April 24, 2010 at 12:09 AM

  8. Scooter

    yeah, but I’m used to seeing you work on Sunday!

    April 24, 2010 at 12:26 PM

  9. I love ride posts. Ride posts show me places I may want to explore in the future. Thanks for sharing with us.

    April 27, 2010 at 4:11 AM

  10. I personally love ride reports. In fact looking at your site tonight I was searching for inspiration to get back into my blogging. You being one of the main inspirations for my blogging to begin with. I get a kick out of looking at your photographs and seeing if I can figure out where you are before I read the post. I’ve had a few fun rides on 49 myself.

    Ride Safe,

    Ronman

    May 2, 2010 at 10:51 PM

Leave a Reply

