I DITCHED CHURCH THIS MORNING

R_110809i

I ditched church this morning. My Grandma is probably turning over in her grave to hear me say that but it’s true… and I don’t apologize for it. Now, don’t get me wrong. Church is an important part of my life but my spiritual health does not rely solely on gathering with a group of other believers. In fact, to be quite honest, the church building is usually not the place where I am closest to God. Those times typically happen when I am alone and many times while I am riding. Such was the case today. I had some of the best church I’ve had in a long time this morning… just me, God and the backroads of Middle Tennessee.

That being said… I thought I would take a few pics along the way. Pictured in today’s RANT is every church building I passed. Places where people were worshipping God while I was worshiping Him at a totally different kind of altar. (See picture above.)

R_110809a

R_110809b

R_110809c

R_110809d

R_110809e

R_110809f

R_110809g

R_110809h

5 responses

  1. I’ve recently started going back to church,a small one with about 50-70 people, and we have 5 or 6 guys that ride. After church yesterday we went out for a beautiful 4 hour ride. It was great. Did a lot of praying and thanking God for the things in my life.
    Your right, church isn’t about a building. It can be found on the back of a v-twin surrounded by His creations.

    November 9, 2009 at 7:02 AM

  2. SparkyL

    So, what you’re saying is, you’re a different kind of a Holy Roller! There is a serenity associated with a moto ride in the countryside on a beautiful day. BTW, nice pics of some churches in your neck of the woods.

    November 9, 2009 at 2:21 PM

  3. As always, beautiful pictures! 🙂

    November 9, 2009 at 2:24 PM

  4. Gunman

    That’s my kind of worship! There’s nothing like climbing on some steel and heading for a mountain top to find a place where there is no sound except for the leaves rustled by the wind and the occasional bird, that’s where you can “Be still and know that he is GOD!”

    November 9, 2009 at 3:07 PM

  5. Love the post and the comments. While the Bible does say “25Not forsaking the assembling of ourselves together, as the manner of some is;” but it does not say the assembling cannot be on bikes 🙂

    I too feel church is a very important part of life, but like you, love to get on my bike, head for some lonely roads and get alone with God. No phone, no TV, nothing, just me and Him.

    I love your idea about photographing the churches. I think I might try that some day.

    November 11, 2009 at 12:33 PM

Leave a Reply

