DESPITE THE COLD, IT WAS A BEAUTIFUL DAY TO RIDE

The riding season is slipping away rather quickly this year and the proof this weekend was in the freeze warnings and temps in the lower 50’s. Man I hate this! Still… I did get out and ride a little today. It felt good, even if I did have to bundle up like a mummy.

R_101809c

Despite the cold, it was a beautiful day to ride with lots of sunshine and… I got to ride with my friend PTOMOM. She is the wife of a guy I play music with and is a great story. She had never ridden a street bike in her life and on her 40th birthday earlier this year Her hubby gave her the motorcycle she had always wanted.

She took the MSF course and has been riding with the group I lead all summer (and a bunch on her own) and is doing awesome. I’m really proud of how far she has come as a rider this year and… her willingness to go for something she had always wanted to do!

BTW… the last pic is the great view from our destination. I love Tennessee!

R_101809a

R_101809b

7 responses

  1. Sounds like a great ride. It was 56 on the way in to work this morning & I think I’ll have to put my jacket & chap liners in soon. Guess I’m gettin’ old…

    Ride on,
    Torch

    October 19, 2009 at 5:54 AM

  2. I envy your local riding. It always looks so beautiful. How cold does it get throughout the winter? Does it dip below freezing for long stretches of time?

    Good for PTOMOM. It’s so important to follow your dreams in life. I hope lots of happy safe miles continue her way~

    October 19, 2009 at 7:43 AM

  3. Not that bad in Middle Tennessee I guess… we usually have a couple good freezes is all. Still, I would prefer FL or TX where winter gear can be thrown away.

    October 19, 2009 at 6:00 PM

  4. Wow, 50 up here at this time of year would be a hot spell – every bike in town would be on the road 🙂

    We might still get a couple of days of those temps before we have to do the final wash and winter prep. At least I hope so. I’m not ready to end it just yet.

    Great pics of Tennessee. A state I’ll have to visit one day.

    October 19, 2009 at 6:33 PM

  5. I don’t care for the rain, but I really like this cold, crisp, time of year. I guess it depends on what you’re used to and your gear.

    Wonderful scenery!

    Keep the faith.

    October 21, 2009 at 1:42 PM

  6. Awesome!!

    October 24, 2009 at 9:23 PM

  7. ronman1

    Nice view indeed from the bridge to nowhere.

    October 29, 2009 at 1:47 PM

Leave a Reply

