HONDA CB1000

R_090609

It’s an obsession I suppose, but I am always on the lookout for interesting 2-wheelers. It’s so bad that I almost always carry a camera with me to be sure I can grab a shot when one crosses my path.

Well… it paid off recently when I came across this pristine Honda CB1000. The “naked” Litre Honda sportbike is one that I had never seen before so I did a little research when I got home. Apparently these bikes were only produced between 1992 and 1997 (before the “naked” craze kicked in) and featured a 998cc DOHC liquid-cooled in-line 4, with 5-speed transmission.

If anybody knows anything more about this cool bike… please comment below.

10 responses

  1. bob

    NICE BIKE. MINE HAS PLENTY OF TOP END, GOOD TORQUE, AND PLENTY OF FUN. NOT YOUR TYPICAL SPORT BIKE, A LITTLE TO TAME FOR THAT BUT A GOOD ALL AROUND BIKE, WITH STYLE.

    September 21, 2009 at 8:16 AM

  2. Rob

    Hey there- I’ve owned a CB1000 for 4 years now. Dubbed “The Big One” by Honda. It’s my first bike, and I’ll be riding it until it falls apart. I’m the second owner- with about 37K miles on it, it’s still running strong. I get lots of interest and compliments about it, since you don’t see them very often. I think Honda only imported them to the USA in 95-96, and sales weren’t that great here. But in Japan and Europe this bike is much more popular, and I can’t recommend it enough. It’s got plenty of power, and since it’s more of an upright/standard riding position, it’s very comfortable. It’s also quite heavy, which is good for stability but not so good if you drop it, which luckily I have not dealt with yet. Gas mileage is the other drawback, but this thing is so reliable and well put together that I can’t really ask for more in a motorcycle. Paid about 3K for it, a bargain for how bulletproof and trouble-free it’s been. Viva the Big One!

    September 21, 2009 at 12:25 PM

  3. Thanks for the input! This bike really intrigues me.

    September 21, 2009 at 7:53 PM

  4. Cecil

    Okay, I just got bit by this bug. The “Big 1” has an avid following in Japan and in various parts of Europe, but somehow never caught on here. I’m interested in Rob’s comment about gas mileage. I just divested of a Valkyrie which was getting about 28 to 29 mpg, which was really discouraging. How bad is the cb 1000?

    October 16, 2009 at 10:36 PM

  5. David Brooks

    I have a 1995 Honda CB1000 that looks exactly like the one in the picture above. This bike was available in the us in 1994 (black) and in 1995 (red). Mine has 12,000 miles and is immaculate. By the way, my bike is for sale if you’re interested. Thanks. David in Michigan.

    November 18, 2009 at 12:54 PM

  6. David… I would love to have it!

    November 18, 2009 at 10:52 PM

  7. Rick D.

    I have a 1994 CB1000. and I always get 39 to 40 mpg using regular gas. I’m over 50, so I don’t show off very often. I’m 6’3″ and 235 lbs, and this fits me very well. This bike sits high, so it is not recommended for anyone with an inseam less than 32″. I have two other bikes, a cruiser and a touring bike, that sit lower, so it takes a few minutes to get used to this one when I get on it. There is some good history info on Wikipedia about this bike. Since this is my smallest bike, I thought it was fairly light weight and easy to handle, but I am sure that is a matter of perception based on what else people have ridden. It’s dry weight is around 520 lbs. I like the quick acceleration and very responsive throttle. I have just over 25k miles on it and have never had any problems. I have seen very few for sale, and the prices range anywhere from $2500 to $5000.

    March 9, 2010 at 2:44 PM

  8. Kevin F.

    I own a 1994 Black CB 1000F. It’s the second one I’ve owned in the last 15 years. I sold my first one to pay for wedding costs and thought I could find another quickly, but was wrong. It took me 8 years to find one in the condition I wanted. I too am 6′ 3″ and appreciate the large size of the bike. It is a fun bike to right with plenty of power and strength for cornering, or the open road for touring. I’ve put Ohlins rear shocks on it as well as a Two Brothers exhaust system with jetting and K & N filtration of course. It has 19,800 original miles and is perfect. If you ever get the chance to own one, buy it. Or make me an offer. =) Take care.

    June 29, 2010 at 6:54 PM

  9. Kai S.

    I just bought a 1994 CB 1000 off ebay, and love it. Project Big One has intrigued me for a while now, as my great buddy has owned on for over 10 years and knows the bike inside and out.

    August 4, 2016 at 8:15 PM

  10. Charles Hendricks

    Just bought a 1994 Big One last month. Had 2100 (two thousand one hundred) miles on it . Couldn’t tell it had ever been ridden. Looked crate fresh. Love it. More than adequate power. A blast in the mountains of East TN and North Carolina. Normal driving gets about 40 mpg. Drove 170 miles on last tank before having to switch to reserve. 4.1 gallons to fill up. Smooth as silk. This one is a keeper.

    October 7, 2016 at 9:42 AM

Leave a Reply

