WHAT DO YOU THINK…

R_081509a

About once or twice a year I make a trip through Kentucky and ride helmetless for the day… and today was one of those days. Of course the whole helmet issue is a hot topic. I’ve heard all the pros and the cons… some say they will save your life, others say they do more harm than damage. As for me… I am not in a position to have much of an opinion since it’s the law in Tennessee… but even if I lived in Kentucky or back in Illinois where I grew up, I doubt I would ride very often without one.

What do you think… please comment below and let me know… if given a choice would you ride with or without a helmet. That’s all I want to know. I’m not interested in anything other than that and if you go into a RANT I’ll just delete your comment. Simple answers only please.

18 responses

  1. Dan

    I used to routinely ride without a helmet until I crashed and wound up with 11 staples in my head. Since then the answer has been “with a helmet”.

    August 15, 2009 at 9:55 PM

  2. Iowa doesn’t have a helmet law but I wear one anyway.

    August 15, 2009 at 10:01 PM

  3. I’ll always ride with my helmet. But that doesn’t mean that I don’t WANT to ride without it. I do, especially when it’s hot. But my personal preference for my own safety reasons, I will always wear it. We here in South Carolina are given a choice and do not have a law, so technically I have the choice.

    August 15, 2009 at 10:35 PM

  4. I live in Kentucky. I would never get on a bike without a helmet.

    btw, keep up the good work with the site.

    August 15, 2009 at 11:06 PM

  5. fuzzygalore

    My simple reply: Always with~

    August 16, 2009 at 5:42 AM

  6. I do both. Here in Texas we have the choice, as long as you have enough insurance coverage. I wear mine more often than not. I figure that it’s not going to protect me much in a bad accident but if I’m just sitting at a light and am rear ended by somebody who didn’t stop quick enough, or hit some gravel going around a slow turn and end up hitting the ground and bouncing my head off the ground, I don’t want brain damage when it could have been prevented.
    But I hate wearing the stupid helmet.

    August 16, 2009 at 8:43 AM

  7. I rode with one even before it was the law. I’ve only ridden a couple of times without and felt so uncomfortable I quickly put it back on, so count me on the “always” side.

    August 16, 2009 at 3:13 PM

  8. Ndawynd

    I live in Florida so it’s not required but I ride with a helmet regardless. I’ve been in a couple of accidents that resulted in minor injuries vs the alternative because I wore one.

    August 16, 2009 at 7:01 PM

  9. When it’s extremely hot, no. Otherwise, always!
    Safety first for me & my family’s benefit.

    August 16, 2009 at 7:27 PM

  10. Arizona gives us the choice and I choose not to. There are lots of other things that could happen in a bike accident helmet or not. I would rather die then live like a vegetable. I know the risk I take every day, and my opinion will not change.

    August 16, 2009 at 8:20 PM

  11. Florida is a choice state – unless you’re under age and don’t carry personal health insurance. I learned to ride in the great state of TN and always wear my helmet. I just got a new one this year. Figured five years was enough age for something that protects my earning power – I’ve still got two daughters in college…

    August 16, 2009 at 9:24 PM

  12. Personally, I like the freedom…but I also want to stay alive. Kinda hard for you to play the guit-fiddle with head damage, don’t ya think?

    August 16, 2009 at 10:00 PM

  13. Swag, in Nov. of ’05 I went down at low speed…in Florida w/o a helmet. I bumped my head on the pavement and proceeded to roll in a forward motion 85 ft. before coming to a rest about ten feet from the oncoming SUV in the other lane…thank God for favors…

    Moral of the story? I was going about 35 miles and hour, no road rash, huge goose egg on my head, remnants of it I still have under my scalp. Reminds me daily when I brush my hair of how lucky I was.

    Me? I wear a helmet no matter what state law says.

    August 17, 2009 at 8:10 AM

  14. I ride with a helmet even in states that do not require.

    However I think it should be the choice of the rider. Like seat belts!!

    Soon it will be a law you have to wipe your ass. Who is going to enforce it.

    Pap

    August 17, 2009 at 10:56 AM

  15. Almost always with a helmet. I break my own rules every so often, but I never was good at following the rules.

    August 19, 2009 at 12:46 PM

  16. rubenandjoann

    I wear a half helmet in the summer and a modular when it gets cold (below 30 degrees). I kind of feel naked without one.

    August 20, 2009 at 9:29 PM

  17. Brandon S.

    I laid my bike down in the rain going at a fairly low speed a few years ago. Luckily, I was wearing a helmet, as there were gashes and scrapes running all down the side of my helmet. Since then, always…

    August 21, 2009 at 11:04 AM

  18. ronman1

    I wear my helmet even when I’m in states that don’t require one.

    August 22, 2009 at 10:50 AM

Leave a Reply

