THAT’S A BUNCH OF HOOEY!

R_070409a

I had the opportunity to shoot this cool Sporty this week. This bike is owned by a local Nashville guy and I really like it a lot. I don’t know why but I think I will always be partial to the Sportster. Yeah… I know it’s known as the “Little Harley” and I know some people call it a “Chik Bike”… but that’s a bunch of hooey! This bike is an American classic, fun to ride and with a little bit of effort can be made to stand out in a crowd… like this one. Honestly, of all the bikes I’ve owned over the years, the only one I really wish I had back is my ’95 Sportster. I loved that bike and one day hope to have another one.

R_070409b

R_070409c

CLICK HERE FOR MORE PICS OF BLACK SHEEP

13 responses

  1. What year is this Sporty? Appears to be an early EVO… but….looks are decieving sometimes…classic looks…..I like this…

    July 3, 2009 at 10:21 AM

  2. If I remember correctly it is a 2004. Was an 883 but he had it converted to 1200.

    July 3, 2009 at 1:54 PM

  3. scooterw

    I happen to have the start of a Sportster build in my barn////

    July 3, 2009 at 2:14 PM

  4. Hey Scooter… you building that for me? 🙂

    July 3, 2009 at 11:47 PM

  5. I love the Sportster. A great city bike! More a fan of the pre-rubber mount years though. I like the feel. Who did the tank graphic(s) do you know?

    July 6, 2009 at 9:19 AM

  6. SparkyL

    Hey Swag;

    I bought an ’09 Sporty back in September 2008. 5500 miles later, and I’m still loving it. I’ve got a long list of farkles that I want to add, but I’m holding off for now. I’ve been meaning to ask you how your transition from Sporty to Electra Glide went initially? I am occasionally tempted, usually after a ride with Mrs. Sparky on back!

    Thanks.

    July 6, 2009 at 9:21 AM

  7. My husband has ALWAYS liked the sporster! Ya-Hooey!

    July 6, 2009 at 9:31 AM

  8. It’s a good looking Sportster, no doubt. The Sporster has always had a bad rap as a bitch bike, but it’s a great ride and there is nothing “wimpy” about someone who rides a sportster. Great shots, great blog.

    July 6, 2009 at 9:36 AM

  9. Tenebrini… the paint and graphics were done by this guys brother who lives around Memphis.

    July 6, 2009 at 7:33 PM

  10. SparkyL Transition is no problem once you get used to the weight of the touring bike. I bought mine for the same reason… so the wife (and I) would be more comfortable when 2-up. Ideally I would like to have both the Electra Glide and another Sportster. I have a feeling if that ever happens that the EG will sit in the garage a whole lot more than the Sportster.

    July 6, 2009 at 7:36 PM

  11. Sheila… husband = smart guy

    July 6, 2009 at 7:38 PM

  12. bcarter… thanks buddy!

    July 6, 2009 at 7:39 PM

  13. LOVE this bike!!!

    July 7, 2009 at 8:50 PM

Leave a Reply

