AN 11 MILE, 55MPH CURVE-FEST!

Sunday afternoons are usually when I break out the SV and take off for the hills… and today was no exception. After church and a good meal with the family I was off for one of my favorite highways in Middle Tennessee. Highway 53 connects Liberty, Tennessee to Woodbury, Tennessee and it is an 11 mile, 55mph, curve-fest! It takes a while to get to it from where I live but several times a year I make the well-worth-it ride just to taste the fruits of the 53… haha!

Here are a few random pics… plus a video that proves you need to keep on your toes at all times. This moron pulled out in front of me and almost stopped he was going so slow. I had to break from about 65mph to 5mph in a distance of only about 50 feet.

R_060709a

A little Frosty-Mug taste to cool down before hopping on 53.

R_060709b

The top of the “curve-fest”.

R_060709c

The one-room post office in Readyville, TN.

R_060709d

Another break… for me and someone else out riding.

R_060709e

Stopped off at the local water hole on the way back home.

R_060709f

Back home in the driveway after another great Sunday afternoon ride!

10 responses

  1. That’s a fun road! I’ve ended up out there by mistake coming from Watertown.

    Drop me a line the next time you’re out and about. I’ll join you.

    -J.

    June 7, 2009 at 9:24 PM

  2. Excellent photos, love the Root Beer one!

    Ride on,
    Torch

    June 8, 2009 at 5:26 AM

  3. You’ve done it again Swag… pictures tell the story… glad your day was more than “satisfactory”.

    I’ll be back for more!

    June 8, 2009 at 7:43 AM

  4. Yo j… will do

    June 8, 2009 at 4:21 PM

  5. Thanks Torch!

    June 8, 2009 at 4:22 PM

  6. Hey Chessie… I’m trying to make my RANTS more interesting like yours!

    http://chessiestales.blogspot.com

    June 8, 2009 at 4:23 PM

  7. I am a fan. Well done. And that was close.

    June 8, 2009 at 5:16 PM

  8. fantastic pics, and that video, wow…

    June 8, 2009 at 6:51 PM

  9. Sandy

    Neat road. We rode it Memorial Day from Woodbury on the way to Center Hill Dam.

    June 19, 2009 at 7:00 PM

  10. One of the first things I did, the first time Cheryl road on back of my bike, was to let her know I would build up some speed, then stop as quickly as I could… just so she would know what that should feel like. About three minutes after that little experience, a dog ran right out in front of us and I had to stop quickly. If not for that little practice, she probably would have said “take me back to the house”, but instead she just laughed.

    June 26, 2009 at 9:51 PM

Leave a Reply

