NOT POLE DANCING POULTRY

R_050709

There is a term used among the sportbike crowd that you rarely hear in other riding circles. The term is “Chicken Strip” and it doesn’t refer to processed, fast food or pole dancing poultry! No, a Chicken Strip is the area on the outer edge of the rear tire that remains un-marred by asphalt. The further you lean your bike through the curves, the smaller your chicken strip becomes… and conversely, the less you hit the corners, the larger your chicken strip stays. You can see that my chicken strip on the SV is rather large… I guess I am pretty much a chicken!

5 responses

  1. Mine looks more like a Turkey Strip. LOL.

    Ride on,
    Torch

    May 8, 2009 at 5:41 AM

  2. Mines fatter than that. And I think I will keep it that way. Back in the day…when I was young and fearless, that chicken strip was fairly narrow…flat trackin and foolish behavior saw to that. Hurts longer these days…and I know my cards are getting thin….

    May 9, 2009 at 3:37 PM

  3. rubenandjoann

    No shame in sqauwking like a chicken…

    Sportbike riding gleans many skills suitable to the race track, which is unfortunately transferred to street riding and thus our troubles begin.

    May 10, 2009 at 5:25 AM

  4. Jesper Bram

    You need to attend a track day, and that strip will be all gone. It takes less leaning than you imagine.

    May 15, 2009 at 12:20 AM

  5. Hey Jesper…. I would but I’m…. er…. uh… chicken! 🙂

    May 15, 2009 at 5:50 AM

Leave a Reply

