ROADSHOW BY NEIL PEART

r_050309g

As I get older I find reading to be more and more enjoyable and over the past five years I’ve probably read more books than I did my entire life before that. Subjects vary but a good portion of the books I read are motorcycle related.

There is one motorcycling author in particular that I have wanted to read for some time. His name is Neil Peart and besides being a motorcyclist, he also happens to be the drummer in one of the most successful rock & roll bands of all time… RUSH. Given my musical background (and current-ground.. haha) and my love of riding… I think “Roadshow… A Concert Tour By Motorcycle” will be right up my alley. I grabbed it at Barnes & Noble tonight and will be diving in soon. I’ll let you know how it is.

8 responses

  1. cant wait to hear about it, ive been meaning to pick it up myself. my understanding is that he tends to ride alot and long distances in his free time. let us know how it is…

    May 3, 2009 at 9:24 PM

  2. Please do a book review when your done. I’m wondering if I should buy it or not…yeah, I know, but money don’t go around very well these days!

    May 4, 2009 at 4:14 AM

  3. Can’t wait to hear the review. I’m curious how, or if, he got over his grief.

    Ride on,
    Torch

    May 4, 2009 at 5:45 AM

  4. An excellent book! If you enjoy it I highly recommend “Ghost Rider”. Also, check out Neils web site (www.neilpeart.net), he has an article section in which he has written for a few motorcycle publications – and also a “New” section that contains multiple stories of his riding experiences. A brilliant man with an extrodinary gift of talent and knowledge!

    May 4, 2009 at 9:18 AM

  5. Sounds like an interesting read – l’m also interested in your thoughts on if its worth picking up

    May 4, 2009 at 12:36 PM

  6. between2wheels… for sure a gifted guy. I actually got to interview Alex a couple of years ago and I was surprised to find how down-to-earth he was. Married to the same girl for 30 some years… totally in love with his grand kids… etc. All three of the members seem to be really good guys, something that is sometimes missing in their field. He also told me how he and Geddy put their careers on hold when Neil was going through such a rough time in his life… their only concern was that their friend would be OK. If I wasn’t that big of a fan before…. I sure was after talking to him.

    May 4, 2009 at 3:40 PM

  7. Wow… lot’s of you looking for a review. Little do you know that I read very slowly! hahaha

    May 4, 2009 at 3:43 PM

  8. Great book, well told like all of Neil’s books. There’s a photo book to go with it called Roadshow The Illustrated Companion. Published Dec. 2008. Check it out.

    May 6, 2009 at 6:39 PM

Leave a Reply

