THE HOLY GRAIL FROM THE EARLY 1970’s

r_042109a1

Over the weekend I happened across the Holy Grail… well, at least the Holy Grail from the early 1970’s. What you are looking at is the baddest, meanest and fastest motorcycle the industry had to offer back then… the Kawasaki 900 Z1. This near perfect specimen was in the parking lot at a local bike show over the weekend and although I could not find the owner to get the details, my best guess is that it is a 1973 version… and it was awesome! Maybe you are old enough to remember but if not, here are a few specs on the 1973 Z1:

903cc, In-Line 4, 4 Stroke, 70HP @ 8500 RPM, Double Overhead Cam, 5-Speed, Top Speed 131.1MPH

r_042109b1

r_042109c1

2 responses

  1. I remember the bike, but somehow…it never looked that shiny and glorified to me. This shot, however is a shocker to me…why don’t my memories of this bike match what I’m looking at in the beauty department?

    Swag, what have you done to my head? Your messing with me…oh wait a minute…I know now…it’s the peyote I did in those years that has tarnished the memory of this Kaw….it….it has to be…isn’t it?

    April 21, 2009 at 8:16 PM

  2. Haha… I’m with you Chessie… it is a little perfect compared to what I remember. A friend had one and I remember it being black or maybe dark green.

    April 21, 2009 at 8:27 PM

Leave a Reply

