SPITTING OUT BUGS AND A WAY COOL SPORTY

r_041709a

Today was a busy day and with the weather as nice as it was in Middle Tennessee I was more than ready for an early evening ride, so I hopped on the Electra Glide and made my way out of Nashville to Henry Horton State Park located in Chapel Hill, Tennessee. It was a pretty normal ride and I enjoyed every part of it… but one.

Those of you that know me well, know that I sing a lot… so much so that half the time I don’t even know I am doing it. At one point in my life I was a full-time musician and even today much of my work is related to the music industry so I guess it is natural that music runs through my head a lot.

Well anyway, as I rolled onto Tennessee State Highway 99 I immediately started singing a song from one of my all-time favorite bands… Toto.

“99… I’ve been waiting so long, oh 99 where did we go wrong… PWAAHHHH, SPIT, SPIT, SPIT”

Out of nowhere and completely unexpected… something happened to me that has never happened to me before. A bug flew in my mouth. That’s right… in 40 years of riding I have never had a bug fly in my mouth… until today. And this was no little nat either. Whatever it was was about the size of a peanut (for real) and luckily it hit my front tooth or it probably would have went straight down my throat.

My first instinct was to spit it out which I did in a split second.. and in fact I kept spitting for the next 10 miles or so. It was pretty gross and I brushed my teeth as soon as possible when I got home… in fact, thinking about all of this again, I’m going to stop writing and go brush my teeth again right now… be right back.

======

I feel better now. Anyway, I think I may start singing to myself more on the bike.

r_041709b1

On the way back home I stopped off at Bumpus Harley-Davidson for my first Bike Night of the year. Man it felt good to just hang around all those bikes and bikers after the long winter. But I’m really glad I stopped for another reason too. The guy that owns and operates Mad Dog Customs in Murfreesboro, Tennessee was there with his latest project. He specializes in giving Sportsters an old-school/bobber look and if the bike below is any indication, he is really good at it. This bike is an ’02 with less than 5,000 miles on it but looks way retro and way cool. I FREAKIN’ LOVE IT! I took a bunch of pics so if you want to see them CLICK HERE.

r_041709c

9 responses

  1. i sing alot too and bugs in throat are not fun…LMAO!!! i bet you’re still brushing… 😉

    this is one of the BEST sporties i’ve seen recently, very cool!!!

    April 18, 2009 at 10:08 AM

  2. Never had a bug in the mouth, but did have a bee in the brassiere. Stung me right on the boob! This wouldn’t have been so bad except that I was still a very green rider and and I was terrified to take my left hand off the grip long enough to get the dang bee out of my shirt.

    Love the Sporty.

    April 19, 2009 at 11:53 AM

  3. Mike D

    Your mostly right, This bike started life as a cherry 2002 883 hugger… Thanks for the great shots of my little sporty!!! MDD

    April 19, 2009 at 8:00 PM

  4. Hey Mike… I just edited the post to say ’02 instead of ’04. Lovin’ that bike man!

    April 19, 2009 at 9:54 PM

  5. great bike Mike D, and great pics, bravo!!

    April 20, 2009 at 10:12 PM

  6. ronman1

    Bad Ass Bobber!

    Ronman

    May 1, 2009 at 1:37 PM

  7. Mike D

    Thanks to all who like my little Rat Bobber…i just wanted to show that anyone with a little time could build a cool bobber for cheap. They don’t need to be high dollar paint ball bikes to be way cool and I ride the wheels off this one. again thanks!

    May 3, 2009 at 11:38 AM

  8. Yo Mike D… If I had the cash, that bike would be in my garage! Still would like to do a full-blown photo shoot with it.

    May 3, 2009 at 12:44 PM

  9. Tonyinaruba

    Hi Mike D,

    I just find the picture of your bike on internet and I like to say its really sweet and clean Like it a lot! Can you give me some details on the parts like fender, air filter, seat, etc. and Color because this Bike is just right! Awesome!

    Tony

    March 22, 2010 at 2:21 PM

Leave a Reply

