A BIT ON THE SCHIZOPHRENIC SIDE (NO NOT ME!)

r_032909

As is usually the case this time of year in Middle Tennessee, the weather is a bit on the schizophrenic side. This weekend started with rain on Friday night and Saturday morning, followed by a mild and pleasant 70 degree Saturday afternoon, followed by a line of storms Saturday night that produced 80mph winds and hail. And now on Sunday we will have a high temperature of only 49F with forecasted snow showers Sunday night. You can’t get much more erratic than that in one 48 hour period!

I guess it’s just Mother Nature’s way of making me appreciate Spring and Summer more when it finally does arrive for good. But it is kind of cruel. She’s been teasing me with bits of perfect riding weather for a few weeks now and just when I start to lift out of my “Dark Months” funk, WHAM… she smacks me hard with a harsh reminder that She is in charge and I am completely at Her mercy. Yes, Winter will be over when She decides, not me, so here I sit in a coffee shop on a cold Sunday morning in March, writing about riding instead of actually riding.

r_032909a1

I do have a 2-wheel sighting for you though. I actually saw this rider earlier in the week and am just now posting. It’s a pretty intriguing set-up. Check the saddlebags. They’re not exactly your standard run-of-the-mill hard or soft bag… these things look like military grade boxes of some sort. I wonder if the rider made his/her own bags? Or maybe this is some sort of organ donor cartage service? (Check the yellow sticker in the close-up.) Think about it… what better way to get a package somewhere efficiently than a motorcycle. I don’t know… I’m just speculating. If anybody knows anything about this let me know.

r_032909b

6 responses

  1. Hi Swag 🙂
    They look like something you would probably find from Touratech catalog:

    http://www.touratech-usa.com/shop/luggage.lasso?SubCat=Cases_only&-session=touratech:4571793E0808d252C1YMT1413658

    March 29, 2009 at 4:33 PM

  2. Good call Fuzzy… I think you are right.

    March 29, 2009 at 4:50 PM

  3. BTW… is it me or do I look freakishly “plastic” in this photo? Strange lighting. Maybe I’ll delete it.

    March 29, 2009 at 4:51 PM

  4. Scott

    Swag, I’d put money down that rider is a member of advrider.com. Hop over there and you can probably find out everything you want to know.

    March 30, 2009 at 1:02 PM

  5. ronman1

    He could be hauling two really big cans of Spam……..

    Ronman

    April 2, 2009 at 8:20 AM

  6. The yellow sticker on the bomb proof saddle bags looks like the one from http://www.twistedthrottle.com

    April 10, 2009 at 11:35 AM

Leave a Reply

