I WISH I STILL HAD IT

r_021609d

Everyone that rides has a special place in their heart for their first motorcycle. Like many of you, I started with a Briggs & Stratton powered mini-bike but my first “real” motorcycle was a 1970 Honda CL100 “Scrambler”. My dad bought the bike for me in 1973 and the little red Honda probably had more impact on me than any other bike I’ve owned. You see, back in those days most of the guys in the neighborhood were still riding mini-bikes and the ones that did move up were riding Honda 50’s. But the CL100 was a “real” motorcycle with full-size tires, suspension, five-speed transmission and a blistering 99cc’s of raw power! And although I wasn’t… it was even street legal. This was the motorcycle that took me to the next level of riding and instantly crowned me king of the neighborhood motorcycle brats! You should have seen their faces the first time they saw that red beauty!

It’s funny to look back now and see how small it really was (and how young I was) but I owe a lot to that Scrambler. It taught me how to use a clutch which proved invaluable when it came time to learn how to drive a car. It taught me how to use a front brake and why using it while going down a dirt embankment is a bad idea. It taught me that wheelies without proper execution can result in scars. It even gave me my earliest inkling that bikers get the really pretty girls as evidenced by the sudden interest of the lovely neighbor girl. Ahhhh,  to be young again!

In retrospect, I really didn’t have the bike that long before moving on to more powerful motocross bikes like my Suzuki RM-100 but I will always have fond memories of the Honda CL100 Scrambler that thrust me into motorcycle manhood! I wish I still had it.

There are still some around… Last summer I attended a motorcycle event in Nashville and ran into a guy who actually had a restored CL100. It was a different color and not the exact same year as mine but man did it ever bring back a flood of good memories. I’m sorry to say that I don’t remember the guys name but he was kind enough to let me snap a few pics. Some are posted here for your pleasure.

r_021609b

r_021609a

r_021609c

4 responses

  1. I like the socks!

    February 16, 2009 at 9:39 PM

  2. bikerswag

    Ha… I was waiting for that comment! Those socks were cool back in about ’73!

    February 16, 2009 at 9:45 PM

  3. Joey Sliva

    Nice post. Brings back a ton of memories for me! 🙂 Will bookmark your blog and check back in from time to time.
    Joey

    February 17, 2009 at 8:34 PM

  4. restorel66

    Man,
    that is a sweet bike! My first was the CB(?) 125. 1977 or 78, Blue. It was actually my mom’s bike, but she hardly ever rode it. I lived on a cul-de-sac and I used to go up and down the street plus there was a large empty field in front of our house. Once, when I was going through that field I hit a massive flat boulder (hidden by the grass) and bent the front forks back a good bit. My dad was more than a little disappointed by that particular riding mishap. Check out a poem I wrote about my riding days (and how grace found me there) at http://restorel66.wordpress.com. Peace.

    December 22, 2009 at 10:00 PM

Leave a Reply

