A ROAD TO NOWHERE

r_020709c

One of my absolute favorite things to do is hop on the bike, find a road I’ve never been down before, and see where it leads me. I love the feeling of not knowing what might be around the next corner… maybe hills, maybe an old farm house, maybe a lake… who knows but the whole experience gives me a sense of freedom that I don’t get anywhere else.

Saturday was a beautiful day in Middle Tennessee… Temps reached the upper 60’s and the sun was plentiful… so before I started on that painting project I promised my wife I would do, I hopped on the Electra Glide and took off on a road to nowhere. Well, actually it did go somewhere… Bradley’s Creek was a name I saw on a cemetery and an old Baptist Church… and a road sign told me at one point that I was about to turn off of “Twelve Corners Road”… but other than that I’m not sure where I was. It was just my kind of ride! Here are a few pics for you… plus a short video at the bottom.

r_020709a

r_020709b

r_020709d

3 responses

  1. rubenandjoann

    Very cool video! Enjoyed the ride…it almost felt like I was there (well, not really but you know what I mean).

    What kind of camera do you use?

    I would love to employ videos on better motorcycling that I can create while riding…just don’t have the means yet.

    It is one thing to talk about it (boring)…quite another to show or demonstrate on video. Maybe you can give me a couple of pointers?

    February 8, 2009 at 8:42 PM

  2. bikerswag

    I use the Canon SD1000 for video. It’s compact and does a great job (although you cant tell it on YouTube).

    February 8, 2009 at 11:01 PM

  3. irondad

    I share the fun of traveling new roads. Sometimes the best discoveries are there, as you say. Part of it has to do with the lack of preconceived notions. On a new road we’re more open because we don’t have any previous experience to close our minds.

    One of my riding motto’s is: Not all who wander are lost.

    March 6, 2009 at 1:52 PM

Leave a Reply

